JSON   RDF   ISO19115/ISO19139 XML

NSW Government schools by school type (2001-2022)

Data Notes:

  • Primary schools enrol students in Kindergarten to Year 6.

  • Secondary schools generally enrol students in Years 7 to 12, although some secondary schools only enrol students in the senior years, i.e. Years 11 to 12 or the junior years, i.e. Years 7 to 10.

  • Central/community schools have primary and secondary departments and may be established where there is an enrolment in secondary classes of 20 or more. Enrolments in primary departments and secondary departments are included with the appropriate student data.

  • Schools for specific purposes (SSPs) are for students with specific needs. Most SSPs have permanent enrolments and include schools for students with intellectual (mild, moderate and severe) and physical disabilities, visual or hearing impairment, behaviour disorders or emotional disturbance, and students in juvenile justice centres. Some SSPs have no permanent enrolments because the children temporarily attending them are enrolled and counted in their own schools. These are mainly hospital schools.

Data Source:

Data and Resources


Additional Info

Field Value
Title NSW Government schools by school type (2001-2022)
Type Dataset
Language eng
Licence Creative Commons Attribution
Data Status active
Landing Page https://data.nsw.gov.au/data/dataset/7be1aa66-ee11-4e0e-b0dd-36486efc70c5
Date Published 2017-02-12
Date Updated 2024-06-26
Contact Point
NSW Department of Education
Data Services <data.services@det.nsw.edu.au>
Temporal Coverage 2001-01-01 - 2022-12-31
Geospatial Coverage NSW81093: New South Wales
Jurisdiction New South Wales
Data Portal Data.NSW
Publisher/Agency NSW Department of Education