Bathurst Regional Council

Bathurst in central west NSW is Located 207 kms west of Sydney and 251 kms from Canberra. Bathurst Regional Council includes all the area formerly included in the Bathurst City Council, most of Evans Shire and a small amount of land formerly included in Oberon Shire. Fifteen percent of the former Evans Shire around the Burraga village is now part of the Oberon Council. The equitable development and maintenance of services provided for the general health and well-being of the citizens of Bathurst and the adjustment of these services to meet the changing needs with adequate facilities providing for 50,000 by the year 2015.

The objective of the Floodplain Management Policy is to implement and maintain a Floodplain Management Strategy. In addition to outlining the areas affected by flooding and the criteria for assessing proposals for development within these areas, the Policy makes provision for development of flood protected land. There are currently six identified areas of flood protected land; •Behind the Havannah Street Levee •Morrisset Street Levee •Stockland Drive Levee •Kelso Industrial Area Levee •Upfold Street •Gilmour Street

Council's Floodplain Management Policy can be accessed in Flood History.

Additional Info

Field Value
jurisdiction Commonwealth of Australia