JSON   RDF   ISO19115/ISO19139 XML

NSW government schools by type and SA4 groupings (2013-2022)

Data Notes:

  • Primary schools enrol students in Kindergarten to Year 6.

  • Secondary schools generally enrol students in Years 7 to 12, although some secondary schools only enrol students in the senior years, that is, Years 11 to 12 or the junior years, that is, Years 7 to 10.

  • Central/community schools have primary and secondary departments and may be established where there is an enrolment in secondary classes of 20 or more.

  • Alexandria Park Community School, Batlow Technology School, Dubbo School of Distance Education, Evans River Community School, Hunter School of Performing Arts, Lucas Heights Community School and Wadalba Community School are included with central/community schools.

  • Norfolk Island Central School was included in NSW data for the first time in 2016. It has not been designated an SA4 group, so is only included in the NSW total.

  • Schools for specific purposes (SSPs) are for students with specific needs.

  • Environmental Education Centres (EECs) provide environmental education for students, but do not have full time enrolments.

  • Since 2014, the department has used a geographical structure based on the new ABS Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS). Groups of ASGS Statistical Area 4 (SA4) boundaries in NSW have been combined into 11 groups for reporting and publication of department data. Previous publications compared enrolments in DEC regions.

Data Source:

Data and Resources


Additional Info

Field Value
Title NSW government schools by type and SA4 groupings (2013-2022)
Type Dataset
Language eng
Licence Creative Commons Attribution
Data Status active
Landing Page https://data.nsw.gov.au/data/dataset/d963fa96-55af-44ba-9816-c0c15a673734
Date Published 2017-02-12
Date Updated 2024-06-26
Contact Point
NSW Department of Education
Data Services <data.services@det.nsw.edu.au>
Temporal Coverage 2013-01-01 - 2022-12-31
Geospatial Coverage NSW81093: New South Wales
Jurisdiction New South Wales
Data Portal Data.NSW
Publisher/Agency NSW Department of Education